AeroPress Review – Details to Know Before You Buy

0
128
AeroPress Review
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.com in addition to other online retailers. This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. All opinions remain my own. You can learn more about our editorial policies here.
Spread the love

Today I are completing my AeroPress review. The AeroPress has quickly become one of the most popular coffee makers on the market. It’s easy to use, makes great coffee and is perfect for people who are always on the go. But is it the right coffee maker for you? Read on for a comprehensive AeroPress coffee maker review that will help you decide if this is the right coffee maker for you.

Table of Contents

What is the AeroPress?

Before getting started with my AeroPress review, a little background on the company and what the AeroPress coffee maker is.

AeroPress Review - Plunge

The AeroPress is a coffee maker that was invented by Alan Adler in 2005. It’s a handheld, plunger-style coffee maker that is popular for its simplicity and portability. The AeroPress is made of two plastic cylinders – one that fits inside the other. The coffee grounds are placed in the inner cylinder, and hot water is added. Then, the plunger is inserted and pushed down, forcing the coffee through a filter and into the cup. The whole process takes just a few minutes, and you can make one or two cups of coffee at a time.

What to look for when you need coffee in a hurry

As with many single cup coffee makers, the AeroPress is designed to brew coffee quickly. This is great if you’re in a hurry or if you just want to make one cup of coffee at a time.

AEROPRESS Coffee and Espresso Maker

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

As with any manual coffee maker, there are some features which you will want to keep in mind.

Convenience

If you’re like me, you love the convenience is a top priority for any coffee maker. Nothing is worse than fidgeting with buttons and programs first thing in the morning.

But what if I told you that there’s an even easier way to get your caffeine fix? Enter the manual coffee maker. With a manual coffee maker, all you need is hot water and ground coffee. No pods, no buttons, no fuss. Just pour in the water, add the coffee, and let it brew. This is one of the great benefits of manual brewing coffee.

Convenience is key for any coffee lover who has a busy lifestyle. Being able to make a perfectly balanced coffee in only a few minutes is a lifesaver on busy mornings.

Brew Quality

When it comes to coffee makers, brewing quality is important. After all, you want your coffee to taste good, right?

One of the most important things to consider when brewing coffee is the quality of the beans. But even the best beans will disappoint if they are not brewed correctly. That’s why it’s important to choose a coffee maker that can extract all the flavor and aroma from the beans.

A manual coffee maker is a great option for those who want to control every aspect of the brewing process. From grind size to water temperature, there are a variety of factors that can affect the taste of your coffee. With a manual coffee maker, you can experiment until you find the perfect brew for your taste buds. So if you’re serious about making great coffee, invest in a quality manual coffee maker.

Budget

When it comes to coffee makers, there are a ton of different options on the market. From percolators to pod machines, there is no shortage of choices.

However, you want to find a coffee brewer that is both budget-friendly option and doesn’t sacrifice quality. In many instances, a manual coffee maker such as the AeroPress, French Press or pour over will allow you to control every aspect of the brewing process, from grind size to water temperature. As a result, you can ensure that your coffee is always brewed to perfection. In addition, manual coffee makers are typically very affordable, making them a great option for budget-conscious shoppers.

Coffee maker size

A big factor when purchasing a fast coffee maker is the quantity of the coffee the maker should make. You will need to decide if you need your coffee maker to serve multiple cups or just one. If you are only making coffee for yourself, then a small coffee maker will do.

Consistency

Finally, you will want to consider constancy with any coffee maker you purchase. You will want it to brew a relaxing cuppa each time it is used. The last thing you want is to have to fiddle around with the settings each time you make a cup. This can lead to inconsistency in your cup of coffee and a lot of frustration on your part!

When it comes to finding the perfect coffee maker, there is no shortage of choices. But if you’re looking for a quick, easy and affordable option you will be able to find the perfect coffee brewer by doing a bit of research. I think you’ll be glad you did

AeroPress Review – Fast Coffee for a Low Price

The AeroPress coffee maker is one of the newest and most popular coffee makers on the market. Whereas coffee makers such as the French Press or manual brewing methods such as Turkish coffee has been around for hundred of years, the AeroPress was introduced to the world in 2005. This coffee maker was invented by Alan Adler, who is also responsible for the Aerobie flying disc. The AeroPress has quickly gained in popularity due to its low price, ease of use and portability.

Read on for my comprehensive AeroPress coffee maker review that will help you decide if this is the right coffee maker for you.

AeroPress Ease of Use – 5/5

One of the best things about the AeroPress is how easy it is to use. This coffee maker is perfect for those who are always on the go and don’t have time to spend making a cup of coffee. Simply add your preferred grind of coffee to the chamber, add hot water and go. It does not get much simpler than this for making a fresh cup of coffee.

How to Use AeroPress Coffee Maker

As mentioned above, the AeroPress is very easy to use. To learn how to use an AeroPress we can break the process into four simple steps.

– Add coffee and Water

– Stir and Steep

– Plunge and Press

– Serve and Enjoy

AeroPress coffee maker is also very versatile. You can use it to make a variety of coffee drinks such as espresso, cappuccino or even cold brew coffee.

Here is a quick video tutorial from Starbucks on how to use the AeroPress coffee maker. As you can see, it is very simple and only takes a minute or two to make a great cup of coffee.

One note to bring up not mentioned in the video, the best grind for AeroPress is a fine grind. It would be great to use a hand grinder on your beans.

If you are using one of the popular burr grinders, the AeroPress grind size settings I use is listed below:

Baratza Encore Conical Burr Coffee Grinder AeroPress Grind Setting

Baratza Encore Conical Burr Coffee Grinder

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

For the Baratza Encore Conical Burr Coffee Grinder, I use the following AeroPress grind setting:

– Set the grinder to position #5

You will note this is a lot finer than the course grind for the French Press (I usually use a grind setting of #30) and a bit coarser than a grind for Turkish coffee (setting around #1)

Capresso Infinity Conical Burr Grinder

Capresso Infinity Conical Burr Grinder

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

For the Caress Infinity Conical Burr Grinder, I use the following AeroPress grind setting:

– Set the grinder to position to #2. You can experiment a bit and see which setting best suits you as I have made consistant cups using everything from a fine (#1) to medium grind (#4)

Again this is a little finer than the French Press but coarser than Turkish coffee.

AeroPress Inverted Method

One of the most popular ways to brew with the AeroPress is using the inverted method. This allows you to steep your coffee for a longer period of time which results in a more flavorful cup of coffee.

To use the AeroPress inverted method, simply place the plunger into the chamber and screw on the filter cap. Then add your desired amount of coffee grinds to the chamber. After that, add hot water (just off the boil) to the chamber and stir for 10-20 seconds.

Once you have stirred, place the AeroPress on your mug and wait 1 minute. After 1 minute, press down slowly for 20-30 seconds until all the coffee has been pressed into your mug.

Using this method, the AeroPress can be used for steeping tea although I refer my electric kettle with infuser.

Build quality & design – 4.5 / 5

AeroPress is created from BPA-free non-toxic plastic and extremely durable. This is neither fashionable nor cost effective but the structure is robust and well designed.

For me, it has been a durable product over time vs. cheap plastic knock offs.

AEROPRESS Coffee and Espresso Maker

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

Take note, the AeroPress is made by American manufacturers. Although the warranty is quite short (1 year) if you may have a problem. If your AeroPress needs replacement, then from my understanding this is a simple and painless process and they stand behind the quality of their product. Luckily, I have not had any issues in the 8+ years I have owned mine.

Aesthetic Appeal – 3.5/5

AeroPress Aero isn’t quite as elegant as other manual coffee brewing devices like Chemex nor is it as emblematic as French presses. The design of the product focuses on being practical, compact and mobile. AeroPress is not meant to show off on any countertop.

Although a bit of an eye sore at home, it’s definitely unique and will impress everyone on your next camping trip.

Coffee Taste and Quality – 4/5

The real test of any coffee maker is the quality of the coffee it produces. When it comes to the quality of coffee, AeroPress consistently delivers a great cup. The coffee is always clean and smooth with no sediment.

AeroPress has been promoted as a substitute for espresso, the crema is non-existent. Its main function is making black coffee. The coffee taste is quite good. Totally free of soil and bright.

When comparing the AeroPress vs French Press, you will notice right away that a French Press provides a much fuller bodied mug of coffee. The AeroPress brews a clean, bright tasting cup of coffee in comparison. It really comes down to your preference. If you like a more robust cup of coffee, go with French Press. If you prefer a lighter brighter tasting cup, AeroPress is for you.

In addition, I do like some light roast coffee beans in the AeroPress vs my French Press. The light roast really pops in the AeroPress.

Versatility

This is quite versatile and its an interesting thing. An AeroPress can make iced coffee, cold brew, espresso style coffee, regular drip coffee and more.

AeroPress Review - Plunge

It’s quite popular to use an AeroPress for camping as its easy to pack and light weight. I have swapped out my old French Press for the AeroPress when camping and could not be happier. The AeroPress is near indestructible.

You can also use the AeroPress for tea using the inverted brewing method. but for me it is not it’s strong suit.

How to Brew Tea with the AeroPress

Set the AeroPress on a counter with the plunger down after inserting the plunger about an inch into the chamber. Pour boiling water into the chamber and let the tea infuse for a few minutes. Invert the filter cap onto the chamber, screw it on, and press it onto your mug when you’re ready. Caution: The AeroPress inverted approach may result in more spillage and the hazards that accompany it.

Value for money – 4.5/5

The AeroPress is an excellent value coffeemaker. It’s generally a little more costlier than basic french press models but it’s within the same range as drippers. Because the Aeropress is designed by AeroPress USA and not in China, we expect its durability to be reliable and long lasting.

If using paper filters you will need replacements, but this is relatively inexpensive. If you do not like paper filters, there are reusable metal filters available which I will cover in the AeroPress accessories part of the review.

For the paper filters, I have had good luck with the unbleached replacement filters. They are cheap and do a good job brewing.

Unbleached Coffee Filters for Aeropress

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

Cleaning – 4.5/5

Cleaning the AeroPress is very easy. You can do it by taking it apart and rinsing all of the parts with water. The nice thing about the AeroPress is that there are only a few parts to clean. If you are using the paper filters, simply throw them away after each use.

The coffee grounds will compact at the bottom of the chamber, so you may need to use a small brush or other tool to get them out. If you are using the metal filter, simply rinse it off and reuse.

AeroPress coffee maker is one of the easiest manual coffee brewing devices to clean.

Is the AeroPress Dishware Safe?

Yes, it is dishwasher safe. I have placed mine in the top shelf of my dishwasher with no problems. Although I usually manually clean it as cleaning the AeroPress is pretty simple.

Custom Brewing Features – 4/5

You have a lot of control over the brew using the AeroPress. From choosing the grind size to how long you steep the coffee, it’s all up to you. This allows you to experiment and find the perfect brew for your taste.

The only negative aspect is that the AeroPress can be a little fickle when it comes to brewing espresso. It will not produce the crema that you get from a real espresso machine. However, with a little practice, you can make a pretty decent espresso with the AeroPress. If you are looking for an AeroPress Expresso Recipe, below is the one I use.

AeroPress Expresso Recipe

First, boil water to 195 degrees Fahrenheit

Add 17 grams of finely ground coffee to the AeroPress

Set a timer and add 55 g of water. Slowly dribble the liquid into the cup. In ten seconds, you should have reached your desired water weight.

Using your hands, gently shake the Aeropress for around 15 seconds to distribute the brew across the inside. You can also use a stirrer but I find this easier.

How to Make AeroPress coffee

Put the brewer in your cup, and plunge as hard as you can. The liquid coffee should have been pushed out by 0:30 mark on your timer.

Enjoy!

Portability – 5/5

Hands down one of the best features is the portability. The AeroPress has the best portability in the world and can easily be transported to any destination. It is lightweight, small, compact and the plastic is very robust.

It is much less likely to rust or damage than the French press or the Chemex. It obviously requires no electricity which makes it a perfect choice for camping trips. Aero Press is a true champion in travelling coffeemakers.

AeroPress Accessories

There are many accessories available for the AeroPress. Some of them are essential, while others are just nice to have. Below is a list of must-have AeroPress accessories:

Reusable Metal Filter for AeroPress Coffee Maker

The MESH: Reusable Metal Filter for AeroPress

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

The first accessory on the list is a reusable metal filter. The AeoPress filters that are paper and come with the AeroPress are fine, but they do not produce a full bodied brew and are not eco-friendly. If you want to be more sustainable, then switch to a reusable metal filter. It also provides a fuller bodie cup of coffee. One of the Best AeroPress Accessories you can invest in.

Bamboo Barista Lab Stand for AeroPress

Bamboo Organizer - Barista Lab Stand for AeroPress

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

Cannot stress how great this is. If you have wall space, get one of these. This thing is amazing and will save your AeroPress from getting knocked over and provide a wonderful looking AeroPress display.

Travel Cap for AeroPress

Able Travel Cap for Aeropress

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

It’s possible to pack a dozen paper filters and a plastic bag of beans into the plunger for a trip, but the filters and beans tend to fall out.

To fix this problem, the travel cap snaps onto the plunger, forming an airtight seal that will keep everything in place. The travel cap also protects the AeroPress from getting banged up in transit.

Fellow Prismo Attachment for AeroPress Coffee Maker

Fellow Prismo Attachment for AeroPress Coffee Maker

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

For full immersion brewing, Prismo is a pressure-activated valve that attaches directly to an AeroPress Coffee Maker, allowing you to make espresso-style coffees.

I was a bit skeptical at first but if you are going to make espresso shots with the AeroPress this is a must have accessory.

AeroPress Coffee Maker Carrying Case

Travel Bag Nylon

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

I lost the original case that came with my AeroPress a long time ago. There are a lot of cases available but I have used this inexpensive AeroPress travel case and it works perfect for me. It is actually a toiletry bag but fits all my coffee supplies perfectly.

Portable Scales

AWS Series Digital Pocket Weight Scale

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

If you are going to be doing a lot of camping and travel with your AeroPress, an inexpensive portable digital scale is a great addition. This will allow you to weigh your coffee beans and water for the perfect cup of coffee every time.

Is AeroPress worth it?

If you are looking for a versatile manual coffee maker that is an excellent travel companion, then I would say the AeroPress is definitely worth it. It is very easy to use, makes a delicious coffee and is very portable. The only downside is that it does not make a large pot of coffee, so if you are looking for a coffee maker to serve a crowd, then the AeroPress is not for you.

AEROPRESS Coffee and Espresso Maker

Amazon.com
as of November 17, 2022 3:03 am

Don’t buy if..

Although there is a lot to love about this manual coffee maker, it may not be for everybody. If you fall into one of the categories below you may want to skip on the AeroPress.

You Love Dark Roast

If you are a fan of dark roast coffee beans, the AeroPress is not for you. The AeroPress produces a very light cup of coffee and the dark roast beans will not produce the full bodied cup of coffee you are use to.

You want to make a large pot of coffee

The AeroPress only makes one two cups of coffee at a time, so if you are looking for a coffee maker to serve a crowd, this is not the right choice.

You Do Not Travel or Camp

One of the main draws of the AeroPress is it’s portability. If you are not needing this, you may be better served with a different manual coffee maker.

Conclusion

The AeroPress is an excellent manual coffee maker that has become very popular for a reason. It is easy to use, makes great coffee and is perfect for people who are always on the go. However, it is not the right coffee maker for everyone. Be sure to read this review before making your final decision.

FAQ

Below are some frequently asked questions about the AeroPress.

What is the Best Kettle for AeroPress?

Any manual or electric kettle will work. I have lately using the SAKI Baristan Electric Kettle. I like that the temperature adjusts by 1 degree and the gooseneck spot makes it great if you want to make a pour over coffee or tea not using the AeroPress. You can see my full review here.

What is the AeroPress Scoop Size?

If you have lost your original scoop, you are probably wondering how many grams of coffee in an AeroPress scoop.

Much like the original case, the original scoop to my AeroPress was lost a long time ago. The original AeroPress scoop size is 11.5 grams (roughly 2.5 tablespoons).

What Are the best coffee beans for AeroPress?

You can use any bean in the AeroPress as long as it is finely ground. I have found the best coffee to use in AeroPress to be light roast beans. This is because the AeroPress brews a light, bright mug of coffee.

AeroPress coffee maker review

How many cups does AeroPress make?

A single fill of the AeroPress’s water reservoir is limited to about 250 milliliters (roughly 8oz). A single cup of coffee requires the ability to make approximately 430ml of coffee in one sitting.

To brew more than one cup at a time, you will need to either dilute or go with the pur over method.

Is AeroPress good for espresso?

It’ll produce something similar to espresso. Authentic Espressos are made using ” nine bar pressure. AeroPress espresso doesn’t comply, but some people may still like a milder aroma. You should try using the Prismo AeroPress attachment. This increases the pressure making your brewing closer to espresso consistency.

What Type of Grinder is Best for the AeroPress?

For the best coffee maker grind, you want to use a burr grinder. This will give you more even grinds and help with the richness of your coffee. I recommend using the Capresso Infinity Burr Grinder. It’s affordable, easy to use and gives great results.

How fine should AeroPress grind be?

The grind should be fine, but not too fine. If the grind is too fine, it will make it difficult to press the coffee and may result in a weak cup of coffee. If the grind is too coarse, the coffee will be weak and watery. The perfect grind for AeroPress is somewhere in between coarse French Press grind and fine Turkish coffee grind.

How long does an AeroPress last?

Although it only comes with a 1 year warranty, the AeroPress is a very well made coffee maker that should last for many years. I have had mine for over 8 years and it still works like new.